Foreign nationals enter the territory of Kazakhstan and depart from it through the border checkpoints open for international and passenger traffic on the basis of the passports or other documents, substituting them, with the visas of the RK stamped in them with the exception of the nationals of the countries, that have a visa-free regime with Kazakhstan.

At a border checkpoint every foreign national above the age of 16, receives the migration card, which is to be returned upon departure from Kazakhstan. The migration card contains personal data, information about terms and aims of the visit. The migration card is to be filled in legibly in capital letters in Russian, Kazakh or English language (optionally), using a ball-point or fountain pen. This card proves the legality of entry in the country and, therefore, a foreign national should always have it about him/her. This card is also to be marked during registration of the passports in a migration police office (read below, in the next article).

The nationals of Australia, Austria, Belgium, the UK, Greece, Denmark, Ireland, Iceland, Spain, Italy, Canada, Korea, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Singapore, the USA, Switzerland, Sweden, Finland, France, Germany and Japan may register their passports in the process of procurement of visas in the diplomatic representatives of Kazakhstan abroad.

The nationals of all countries, arriving in Kazakhstan through any of the 12 international airports of Kazakhstan (including, Almaty, Astana and Karaganda), the international railway checkpoint of Dostyk-Alashankou (China), international car checkpoints of Khorgos, Dostyk, Bakhty and Maikapchagai (China), Kordai and Kolzhat (Kyrgyzstan), as well as the sea ports of Aktau and Bautino have right to get registration at the indicated border checkpoints.