The official public holidays of Kazakhstan are:

New Years Day – January 1-2
International Women’s day – March 8
Nauryz Meyramy – March 21-23
Kazakhstan People’s Unity Day  – May 1
Victory Day – May 9
Capital City Day – July 6
Constitution Day – August 30
First President’s Day — December 1
Independence Day – December 16-17

The days off are: the first day of Kurban-Ait (its date is movable and is determined according to the Islamic calendar) and the orthodox Christmas, celebrated on January 7.

Sunday is a day off for all the public bodies and most of the private institutions, excluding shopping facilities.